

2023 HSNM Award Winners

The Historical Society of New Mexico is honored to award the following individuals, publications, and societies for their important contributions to the preservation and dissemination of the history and cultural heritage of our state during 2023.

BOOK AWARD WINNERS

Gaspar Pérez de Villagrá Award

for an outstanding publication in New Mexico or Southwest Borderlands history

Nick Pappas, Crosses of Iron: The Tragic Story of Dawson, New Mexico, and Its Twin Mining Disasters University of New Mexico Press

Fray Francisco Atanasio Dominguez Award

for an outstanding publication or significant contribution to historic survey and research in New Mexico or Southwest Borderlands history

Enrique Lamadrid and José A. Rivera, eds., *Water for the People: The Acequia Heritage of New Mexico in a Global Context*, University of New Mexico Press

Pablita Velarde Award

for an outstanding children's publication related to New Mexico or Southwest Borderlands history

Alysa Landry, Thomas H. Begay and the Navajo Code Talkers, Ohio University Press

Ralph Emerson Twitchell Award

for an outstanding publication or significant contribution by individuals or organizations to the creative arts, as related to New Mexico history

Judith Phillips - The Gardens of Los Poblanos, University of New Mexico Press

Fabiola Cabeza de Baca Award

for an outstanding publication or exhibit relating to domestic life in New Mexico

Jerry D. Thompson, Under the Piñon Tree: Finding a Place in Pie Town, University of New Mexico Press

SERVICE AWARD WINNERS

L. Bradford Prince Award

to recognize significant work in the field of historic preservation in New Mexico

Co-winners:

Dr. John Bell, to recognize decades of service to the Fort Bayard Historic Preservation Society

Historic Fairview Cemetery Board, for work to preserve and promote the Historic Fairview Cemetery in Albuquerque

Dorothy Woodward Award

to recognize significant work in the advancement of education in New Mexico history

Project Oppenheimer, for the collaborative effort to tell the true stories of the history of Los Alamos as related to the 2023 film *Oppenheimer*

Paul A. F. Walter Award

in recognition of outstanding service to the Historical Society of New Mexico

Susan Berry, for tremendous efforts managing the successful 2023 New Mexico History Conference in Silver City, for managing the transition to new membership platform, and for long years of service to the Historical Society of New Mexico

Edgar Lee Hewett Award

to recognize outstanding service to the people of New Mexico, as related to New Mexico history

Denise Tessier, for 29 years of service to the East Mountain Historical Society, leading publications, presentations, serving on the board, and promoting the history of the East Mountains area